Stacks Image 3
During the past two or three years, I've written several--well, more than several--articles for LinkedIn that I often, but not always, simultaneously published on Medium and Casetext.

Many of these articles are law-related. The subjects range from Saudi legal matters to copyright, with a few book and movie reviews thrown in for good measure.

The story about James Joyce's flight from Nazi-occupied France and his refusal to accept a passport from a neutral country that would have permitted easy travel led to an interesting e-mail exchange with a relative of Joyce's wife Nora.

The articles warning of collateral consequences to the proposed Saudi Aramco IPO led to multiple insistent, stalking-like telephone calls from a Wall Street Journal reporter who was upset that I would not be a source for him. The articles speak for themselves. I wrote that he could feel free to quote from them with attribution, but that wasn't enough.

I wish I had the time to update all the articles. The Star Trek Axanar litigation was settled obviating a judicial pronouncement on whether a copyright oral license is valid (I believe it is). The Kerouac Estate's shenanigans (a Florida court found that the current Executor exercises powers under a fraudulent testament) will stay on the backburner because the Kerouac Estate wisely settled with the Casady Estate in the "Joan Anderson Letter" litigation.

The warning in the article "Parallel Lines" has fortunately not proven accurate. The current U.S. president answers not to history, but to himself. If he had a messianic streak, the world would be doomed.

The list of articles with links can be found below.

List of Articles


Murder in Bahrain: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/murder-bahrain-jurisdiction-under-us-bahrain-status-forces-okane/

A War in the Family https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/war-family-michael-okane/

Steve Bannon, General Noriega and the Perils of Perusing Classified Information, https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/steve-bannon-general-noriega-perils-perusing-classified-michael-okane/

ISIS and the Lizard People: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/isis-lizard-people-michael-okane/

Let's Keep Drug Sales in the Streets: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/lets-keep-drug-sales-streets-michael-okane/

Lawyers: AI is Coming for You: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/lawyers-ai-coming-you-michael-okane/

The President vs. the FBI: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/president-vs-fbi-michael-okane/

Time to Examine Contract Arbitration Clauses: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/time-examine-contract-arbitration-clauses-michael-okane/

Bonus and End of Service in Saudi Arabia: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/bonus-end-service-saudi-arabia-michael-okane/

Pirates of the Caribbean, An Arab Proverb, George Santayana, Donald Trump, Lolita and Game of Thrones: Oh My https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/pirates-caribbean-arab-proverb-george-santayana-donald-michael-okane/

Trump, Nixon, Bandar Bush and South Florida Golfers: Oh My https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/trump-nixon-bandar-bush-south-florida-golfers-oh-my-michael-okane/

Jeff Sessions and Xuan Loc https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/jeff-sessions-xuan-loc-michael-okane/

A Few Thoughts about Publishing https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/few-thoughts-publishing-michael-okane/

Flying Felonies: United and Form 8300 https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/flying-felonies-united-form-8300-michael-okane/

About Elizabeth Warren https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/elizabeth-warren-michael-okane/

Winning High-Profile Cases: Jacques Vergès, Roy Black, José Baez https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/winning-high-publicity-cases-jacques-vergès-roy-black-michael-okane/

History Makes Literature https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/history-makes-literature-michael-okane/

New Saudi Companies Law https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/new-saudi-companies-law-michael-okane/

Easter House, Phil Hendrie, Pizzagate https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/easter-house-phil-hendrie-pizzagate-michael-okane/

Trump, India and the NFL https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/trump-india-nfl-michael-okane/

James Joyce's Flight from France, 1940 https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/james-joyces-flight-from-france-1940-michael-okane/

Just Another Country? https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/just-another-country-michael-okane/

The Constitution-Free Zone https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/constitution-free-zone-michael-okane/

Israel, Palestine: Why Kerry is Wrong: the Only Solution is No Solution https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/israel-palestine-why-kerry-wrong-only-solution-michael-okane/

Wall Street Journal: Shut Down Lawyer Trust Acounts https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/wall-street-journal-shut-down-lawyer-trust-accounts-michael-okane/

Book Review: Finally Finding Love (El hombre que tardó en amar) by Silvia Nuñez del Arco https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/book-review-man-who-came-late-love-el-hombre-que-tardó-michael-okane/

The Electoral College, the Chicago Cubs and a Thousand-Year Old Institution: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/electoral-college-chicago-cubs-thousand-year-old-michael-okane/

The Night of, Better Call Saul, A Naked Singularity, Goliath https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/night-better-call-saul-naked-singularity-goliath-michael-okane/

Left Behind Girl: How ISIS Killed Kayla https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/isis-killed-kayla-michael-okane/

Nine Tips You Won't Find Anywhere Else (and how NOT to apply for a job on LinkedIn) https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/nine-tips-you-wont-find-anywhere-else-how-apply-job-linkedin-okane/

Suing the Saudis, Suing the Israelis: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/suing-saudis-israelis-michael-okane/

Suing Saudi Arabia: the JASTA Trials https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/suing-saudi-arabia-jasta-trials-michael-okane/

Saudi Arabia in the Dock: the JASTA Trials https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/saudi-arabia-dock-jasta-trials-michael-okane/

(No) Privacy on Craigslist: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/privacy-craigslist-michael-okane/

When your Lawyer Wears a Wire: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/when-your-lawyer-wears-wire-michael-okane/

U.S. Court Says "No" to Aramco IPO? https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/us-court-says-saudi-aramco-ipo-michael-okane/

Hillary Needs Trump: Donald and KIm https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/hillary-needs-trump-donald-kim-michael-okane/

Opening Bathroom Doors https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/opening-bathroom-doors-michael-okane/

Parallel Lines https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/parallel-lines-michael-okane/

Letters and Photographs: Copyright Questions https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/letters-photographs-copyright-questions-michael-okane/

Disney's Gator Problem--and Florida's https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/disneys-gator-problem-and-floridas-michael-okane/

Postcard from America: Fear of Flying Frontier https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/postcard-from-america-fear-flying-frontier-michael-okane/

Facebook and Corporate Censorship https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/facebook-corporate-censorship-michael-okane/

Meeting Jürgen Mossac (#panamapapers) https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/meeting-jürgen-mossack-michael-okane/

New Saudi Companies Law--English Text https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/new-saudi-companies-law-english-text-michael-okane/

Interpol's Dark Past and International Criminal Law https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/interpols-dark-past-international-criminal-law-michael-okane/

Should Entrapment be a Defense to Copyright Infringement? https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/should-entrapment-defense-copyright-infringement-what-michael-okane/

The Sopranos, Pinot v. Merlot and Roach Trips https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/sopranos-pinot-v-merlot-road-trips-michael-okane/

Five Stop Signs along Saudi Aramco's IPO Road https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/five-stop-signs-along-saudi-aramcos-ipo-road-michael-okane/

The Narrator and the Text, the Witness and His Testimony https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/narrator-text-witness-his-testimony-michael-okane/

How to Spot the Informant at your Local Mosque https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/how-spot-informant-your-local-mosque-michael-okane/
Dresden, Tokyo, Hanoi, Raqqa https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/dresden-tokyo-hanoi-raqqa-michael-okane/

Intellectual Property in Saudi Arabia https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/intellectual-property-saudi-arabia-michael-okane/

Khobar Raytheon Building Fire Update https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/khobar-raytheon-building-fire-update-michael-okane/

Two Classes of U.S. Citizens https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/two-classes-us-citizens-michael-okane/

How to Get Out of Jury Duty https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/how-get-out-jury-duty-michael-okane/
Fraudsters, 1 Code of Ethics, 0 https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/fraudsters-1-code-ethics-0-michael-okane/

What Notaries Don't Want You to Know https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/what-notaries-dont-want-you-know-michael-okane/

Saudi Arabia: Time for a Safety Stand-Down? https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/saudi-arabia-time-safety-stand-down-michael-okane/

When does a Diplomatic Passport not a Diplomat Make? https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/when-does-diplomatic-passport-diplomat-make-michael-okane/

Do Bits and Bytes an Old Document Make? https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/do-bits-bytes-old-document-make-michael-okane/

Martha Stewart and Cecil the Lion: What Links these Cases? https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/martha-stewart-cecil-lion-what-links-cases-michael-okane/

How to Find a Federally Protected Witness https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/how-find-federally-protected-witness-michael-okane/

Copyright Conundrum: the Joan Anderson Letter https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/copyright-conundrum-joan-anderson-letter-michael-okane/

How Lawyers get into Trouble https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/how-lawyers-get-trouble-michael-okane/

The Broken Promises of International Arbitration https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/broken-promises-international-arbitration-michael-okane/

For British Readers: Half and Half and Of Counsel https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/british-readers-half-counsel-michael-okane/

Saudi Labor Law: 7 Changes You Need to Know https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/saudi-labor-law-7-changes-you-need-know-michael-okane/

5 Roots of the Rohingya Crisis: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/five-roots-rohingya-crisis-michael-okane/

Advice from Oscar Wilde: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/advice-from-oscar-wilde-michael-okane/

Let's Hope Women Make Saudi Driving Safer https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/lets-hope-women-make-driving-safer-saudi-arabia-michael-okane/

The Decline of the Billable Hour https://medium.com/@al_mu7ami/the-decline-of-the-billable-hour-84d47ffd30fb